Recycled Moms-Sharing Across Generations

Good day Recycled Moms and everyone who cares for children and seniors in particular. In our quest to care for our kids, we cannot forget our elders. Grandparents Day is coming up on September 8th and I think we can make this the best one ever. My hope is that every person who reads this blog post will reach out to a grandparent and let him or her know they are not forgotten. If your own grandparents are deceased, you can “adopt” a grandparent. Nursing homes, retirement villages, senior citizen centers and the like can put you in touch with a lonely person who needs love.

I just have to tell about my own paternal grandparents who were such unique and special people. They lived high in the mountains of North Carolina in a little cabin that Grandpa Nelson’s own father built by hand. There was no electricity or running water and Grandfather even drove his horse and wagon to town when he went in for supplies. This way of life was all they knew and they loved this simple, uncomplicated world that was swiftly passing away. This was in the 1960’s when such a thing was almost unheard of, a time when technology and new society values were sneering at the old ways.

Grandfather had been injured and walked on crutches. He would hobble to the woodpile and sit cross-legged while he chopped wood piece by piece with a hatchet. We children would help carry the wood onto the porch where it was easily accessible for the fireplace and wood stove.

Grandmother Myrtle raised chickens for eggs and for food, made her own soap from lye, churned her own butter and kept perishables in the spring house where the ice cold mountain water maintained their freshness. She taught me to make hominy from corn when I was about eight years old.

Both of these precious grandparents have long been deceased but I still miss them every day. The lessons I learned about life, living and loving were jewels more valuable than any queen’s crown. I only wish I had paid more attention at the time.

Recycled Moms are grandparents of course. We all must reach out to one another, pay attention to what we can learn from others. Some of us feel alone on this path we are walking and crave a shoulder to lean on or a listening ear. Every senior, every grandparent has volumes of wisdom held inside and longs to share that with another person.

A place I have discovered (actually they discovered me) is Caring Across Generations which is an organization that works to unite and bring people together and support one another in many ways. They are hosting a huge Grandparents Day party which we all are invited to attend. Visit their website at www.caringacross.org/GPDay to learn more. You can send a card to grandparents from that website, share “granecdotes” about your own grandparents and much more.

Make Grandparents Day 2013 the best ever for the grandparent you touch and for your family. Remember to share the campaign also so we can love as many seniors as possible on this special day. Who knows? You just might find a new family member and at the least will have made someone feel loved again.

Precious Memories

4 thoughts on “Recycled Moms-Sharing Across Generations

  1. Sunnie Day says:

    Brenda, Even though my own grandparents are long gone I too miss them so much. My Mama as I called her was the kindest person I had ever met. She loved us so and I felt it everyday. I remember he letting me play through her purse and jewelry box. She would dress up for Sunday in her white gloves, big ear bobs, and hat. She would give me gum during church and I would peel the foil ever so carefully. She never told me to stop…she knew as a young child that this kept me busy during a long sermon…lol Thank you for the reminder and the blessings of being a grandparent.

  2. femmeflashpoint (@femmeflashpoint) says:

    Hyph,

    This is an excellent post and has such needed information and encouragement in it, as well as a really awesome outline of what it was like spending time with your grandparents!

    I remember visiting my great-grandparents who lived much the same way, and some “adoptive grandparents” who lived not far away, in the Appalachian mountains as well. There was no indoor plumbing, the food they ate was grown and harvested by their own hands, the spring house was their refrigerator, and water came from the well, and was drawn by hand.

    For some living in such a way sounds absurd, but when it’s a way of life your familiar with, it doesn’t seem strange at all. My great-grandparents didn’t get indoor plumbing worked into their home in Kentucky until I was a senior in high school, which was 1982. Even then, my great-gran didn’t see the necessity of it, but her kids insisted on it as she was nearing 100 years old.

    Very cool post, Hyph! I loved it!

    femme

  3. marcoujor says:

    Dear Hyph,
    Your message and awareness is beautiful…am sharing so we all connect with a special elder on Sept 8th.
    Hope you are having a lovely Labor Day weekend. Hugs, Maria

Leave a Reply

