Sports Are Not My Friend

Let me be perfectly honest here. I do not care for sports, never have-never will. But kids love sports and need to stay active. Team sports provide physical exercise, social interaction, sharing, and many other positive things. But it is difficult to schedule practices and games after school and on the precious weekend hours.

The other morning my own boy was at baseball practice when he was struck hard by a ball. He went down and I jumped up. I knew I could not rush the field and embarrass him in front of his teammates. I sure wanted to though. He now proudly carries a bruise the size of, well, a baseball. He cannot wait to get back out there and I am queasy at the thought.

Every child needs to play his or her favorite sport or activity. Our Grands need it even more to build self esteem and to make friends. But what happens when they so not excel? I am a grandma after all and really do not get out and play ball with my Grand. He is not nearly as good as most of the other boys. But he knows also that he excels in other areas. So his sense of self worth is not wrapped up in how well he plays sports. His academics are very high, exceptional in fact.He remembers that when another boy taunts him with the fact that he is not a great hitter or runner or whatever.

Encourage your Grands to play sports. Also lay a realistic foundation and expectation that being a great player does not determine who they are. Their value lies within, not on a playing field.

Proverbs 4:23, “Above all else, guard your heart,  for everything you do flows from it.” When a child has truth of who they are instilled in their heart, no lie or frivolous talk can make them doubt themselves. They will remember they are the children of God and are  loved by Him and by us.

5 thoughts on “Sports Are Not My Friend

  1. sunnieday50 says:

    This is such a.thought.provoking article…what better way than to keep our hearts young too.I
    love going to Xaviers games and I cheered when he ran the wrong way playing soccer. It is enjoying the game and knowing bis grands are.cheering him on!

  2. malahob says:

    Good Morning! My Grandson does not like sports! He tried playing basketball. He really tried hard, but he was no good and he knew it. He is so shy, and I was happy when he tried, but he was miserable. He quit. He likes to read, enjoys computer and video games. I have to learn to accept him the way he is. He’s a wonderful boy.

    • recycledmomsraisinggrandchildren says:

      My grandson is not athletic either. I think people place way to high a value on sports. Like your boy, mine loves to read and spend time on anything electronic. Our acceptance of them is important and indeed crucial to their self esteem. Thank you for sharing that Malahob.

  3. malahob says:

    Good Morning! My boy is just no good at sports. He tries but he knows he is no good, and his teammates laugh at him. He is so shy. I have to give him credit for trying.

Leave a Reply

